ÉGLISE SAINT JEAN L’ÉVANGÉLISTE
This building has a nave cut off from a transept and equipped with a square choir. The hemicyclic apse dates back to the 1770s. The choir and bell tower date back to 1771. The entire church (nave, transept and choir) was to be covered with a stone vault. In 1621-1622, by cannonballs, the Huguenots knocked down the northern wall and the bell tower. The northern transept crosspiece was not rebuilt until 1840. It is at the same place where the stone vault of the bell tower was removed and the one you see today was built. In 1966, the church was restored.
The facade with its three blind arcades was redesigned.
The current bell tower was built around 1780 probably by a companion of the Tour de France who first built it on the ground, then dismantled and reassembled it. Its triple bulge structure makes it a unique bell tower in France and Europe. His silhouette can be seen from afar in the marsh
- Types : historic site and monument